Kenya Breaking News

We will hold prayer day for IEBC, says Raila

Chief Opposition leader Raila Odinga has announced that Azimio will hold a prayer day for the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

Speaking during a press briefing on Wednesday, Raila said the prayers will be held but did not disclose the exact day or time.

The prayers are aimed at pleading for a transparent elections body.

“We will also be doing a prayer for the IEBC. That we have a better IEBC to defend the rights of our people. That prayer will be done in front of the premises of IEBC (Anniversary Towers),” he said.

The Azimio team will hold their anti-Ruto protest rallies in Kisii and Kisumu on Friday and Saturday respectively.

So far Raila has held several rallies with the latest being in Busia.

The ODM leader has held that in the 2022 presidential elections, he won by garnering 8,170,355 votes or 57.53 per cent of votes cast against President William Ruto’s 5,915,973 votes (41.66 per cent of votes cast).

On Friday, the opposition reaffirmed their position that they will not participate in the planned reconstitution of the IEBC.

In a 13-point resolution following the conclusion of a two-day meeting in Machakos, the leaders took issue with the procedure adopted by the Kenya Kwanza in seeking to fill the vacant slots.

“Azimio parliamentary group reiterates that it will not participate in the reconstitution of IEBC through the formula and process being proposed by the Kenya Kwanza regime,” it said in a statement.

The opposition has been concerned about the adopted style of picking commissioners being advanced by the ruling administration.

Speaking during the Kibra Rally on February 5, Raila said they would not allow Ruto to ‘single-handedly’ appoint IEBC commissioners.

Raila is calling for a joint selection process and decentralization of the IEBC.

In the IEBC (Amendment) Bill, 2022 which has already been assented into law, the Parliamentary Service Commission and the Inter-Religious Council, where each will forward two names to the panel.

The Political Parties Liaison Committee, Law Society of Kenya, and Public Service Commission will share the remaining three slots.


Related Articles

Back to top button