Home Coronavirus Updates 947 new COVID-19 cases and 12 deaths recorded in Kenya

947 new COVID-19 cases and 12 deaths recorded in Kenya


The total number of confirmed COVID-19 cases in Kenya has risen to 48,790 after 947 more people tested positive from a sample size of 6,862 tested in the last 24 hours.

In a statement issued on Saturday, Health CS Mutahi Kagwe said the from the 947 cases, 924 are Kenyans and 23 are foreigners.

“595 are males and 352 females. The youngest is a one-year old child while the oldest is 96,” said the Ministry.

According to the Ministry, currently, there are 22 patients in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU), 62 on supplementary oxygen, while 16 are in High Dependency Unit (HDU).

A total of 1,167 are admitted in various health facilities while 3,464 are on Home Based Isolation and Care.

The Ministry of Health also announced that 12 more patients have succumbed to the disease bringing the fatality to 896.

At the same time, 455 people have recovered from the disease, 343 from the Home-Based Care Program, while 112 have been discharged from various hospitals. Total recoveries now stand at 33,876.

The 947 new cases are distributed across the country as follows: Uasin Gishu 181, Nairobi 154, Nakuru 146, Kakamega 46, Mombasa 37, Kisumu 37, Kiambu 30, Kericho 30, Busia 28, Turkana 27, Laikipia 24, Trans Nzoia 21, Migori 20, Kisii 18, Meru 17, West Pokot 15, Marsabit 14, Bungoma 13, Murang’a 11, Vihiga 10, Siaya 9, Bomet 9, Nandi 8, Elgeyo Marakwet 7, Baringo 6, Kajiado 5, Kitui 5, Isiolo 5, Wajir Machakos 2, Kilifi 2, Narok 2, Tharaka Nithi 2, Samburu 2 and Nyeri 1.

In terms of Sub County Distribution; In Uasin Gishu, the 181 cases are from Ainabkoi (137), Turbo (40), Kesses (2), Kapseret and Moiben (1) case each.

In Nairobi, the 154 cases are from Lang’ata (17) Westlands (13), Embakasi East, Kibra, Makadara and Roysambu (11) cases each, Dagoretti North (10), Embakasi West, Kamukunji, Kasarani and Starehe (9) cases each, Embakasi Central (8), Dagoretti South and Embakasi North (6) cases each, Embakasi South and Ruaraka (5) cases each, Mathare (4).

In Nakuru, the 146 cases are from Nakuru West (54), Nakuru East (51), Gilgil (24), Naivasha (13) and Kuresoi South (4). In Kakamega, the 46 cases are from Lurambi (39), Mumias West (6) and Lugari (1).

In Mombasa, the 37 cases are from Jomvu (33), Likoni (2) Kisauni and Nyali (1) case each while in Kisumu, the 37 cases are from Kisumu Central (19), Nyakach (15), Nyando (2) and Kisumu East (1). In Kiambu, the 30 cases are from Thika (13), Kiambu Town (8), Juja and Kiambaa (3) cases each and Ruiru (1).

In Kericho, the 30 cases are from Ainamoi (17), Bureti (8) and Belgut (5). In Busia, the 28 cases are from Matayos (17), Teso North (9) and Teso South (2).

In Turkana, the 27 cases are from Turkana West (18) and Turkana Central (9). In Laikipia, all the 24 cases are from Laikipia East. In Trans Nzoia, the 21 cases are from Kiminini (11), Cherangany (5), Kwanza (3), Endebess and Saboti (1) case each while in Migori, the 20 cases are from Rongo (17) and Kuria West (3).

The 18 cases in Kisii are from Kitutu Chache South (14), Bobasi, Bonchari, Nyaribari Chache and Nyaribari Masaba (1) case each. In Meru, the 17 cases are from Imenti North (10), Igembe Central (4), Igembe South (2) and Tigania West (1).

In West Pokot, all the 15 cases are from West Pokot. In Marsabit, all the 14 cases are from Moyale. In Bungoma, the 13 cases are from Kanduyi (10) and Kimilili (3) while in Murang’a, the 11 cases are from Mathioya (5), Kihani and Maragua (2) cases each, Kandara and Kangema (1) case each.

In Vihiga, all the 10 cases are from Vihiga town while the 9 cases in Siaya are from Alego Usonga (7) and Bondo (2). In Bomet the 9 cases are from Bomet East (7) and Bomet Central (2).

In Nandi, all the 8 cases are from Emgwen. In Elgeyo Marakwet, all the 7 cases are from Keiyo North, while in Baringo, the 6 cases are from Koibatek (3), Baringo Central (2) and Mogotio (1).

The 5 cases in Kajiado, are from Kajiado North (4) and Kajiado East (1) while the 5 cases in Kitui, are all from Kitui Central and the 5 cases in Isiolo, are all from Garbatulla.

In Wajir, all the 3 cases are from Wajir East. The 2 cases in Machakos, are from Athi River and Kangundo with (1) case each, the 2 cases in Kilifi, are from Malindi, the 2 cases in Narok, are from Narok East and Narok South with (1) case each.

All the 2 cases in Tharaka Nithi, are from Tharaka South, the 2 cases in Samburu, are all from Samburu Central and the case in Nyeri, is from Nyeri Central.